20150917_103517

Cecile Rossant
Untitled #28

Can you find the hid-
den poem you be-
lieve I wrote for you?
I pinned it to the
highest branch of the
tallest tree in my
neighborhood and when
I did so – high
up there – I saw
the world differently
and though it took so
much focused work, once
I reached that young and
supple Limb, I was
distracted then de-
tached from thoughts of you,
our world below, and
swung over high and
low to another
ardor on a differ-
rent tree, and cradled
in its lower limb
awoke to a re-
freshing canopy:
sun and branches you
or I, behind glint
of sun see a pa-
per corner flapping
in the sky climb the
tree as if it were
a poem – line
by line – hide and
seek – ready or not
here I come
you split and scatter

Born in New York City, Cecile Rossant worked as an architect in New York and Tokyo before settling in Berlin in 1995. She is the author of the novel Tokyo Bay Traffic (Red Hen Press 2008), a collection of short fiction, About Face (Red Hen Press 2004) and the children’s novel Underground New York (Cornelsen 2009). Her stories have also appeared in Salt Hill, Exberliner, Bordercrossings and an anthology of contemporary fiction, The Crucifix is Down (Red Hen Press 2005).

